Get rid of Your Baggage!

Manuela Timofte
3 min readMay 10, 2023

It is night. I watch the display of the electronic boards. Trains come and go, carrying fates in all directions.

The lights in the streets, stations and houses are on. I leave my house at dawn and return when others are already long in the family's heart. It is already a regular thing as I am still doing a course after work. However, it seems it is taking me longer than ever to get home tonight. It seems something is wrong. Actually, I am not where I want to be.

At the station and on the train, I remember how I decided to leave my country many years ago. The idea was that I could find a better job, more money and a better life.

As I look out the window at the speed of the train, I feel something break inside me and I start to cry. The tears begin to flow and the mirror of the illusion that I will have a better life where I am, shatters. I cry my eyes out until I reach my destination, another half hour. I am not watched by prying eyes because there is no one near me. At this time of the day, there are not many passengers on the train I am on.

Slowly I understood that everything I had built in one part of the world I also had or could build in my country, but my fears did not allow me to see this. I understood that I did not trust myself, and wherever I go in this world, I carry the baggage with me because it is inside me.

Wealth, honours, and pleasures bring “temporary happiness” but inside you feel that you don’t have what you want. And you don’t want the baggage you carry within.

Photo by Mantas Hesthaven on Unsplash

Nobody else can take our baggage to relieve us of its weight. Full of fears of all kinds, unresolved emotions, pains not allowed to explode, forbidden smiles and laughter, and unexpressed love, all make us feel small, but we want to be important. We look for things that bring us value when we are born worthy. We complicate our lives, and simplicity is so beautiful…

Our baggage makes us chase illusory happiness built from honours, money, and brands. Things which are from the outside world.

Unburdened by the weight of baggage that we don’t give much importance to, happiness is in each of us. Yet, the baggage we carry inside, we identify it as the only way we can live.

It has taken me years to realise that my baggage has led my life in the wrong direction, down a dark and twisted road. It took me years to free myself from this baggage, to realise myself as I am and as I want to live. It took me years to understand that beyond this baggage I long for simplicity, peace and nature. When I let go of the baggage, I realised that I was not living the life I wanted and that I was not the person I wanted to be.

With this baggage in our luggage, we are always on a well-trodden path. That path changes when we open the baggage and make an order. When we understand where our fears and traumas come from and clear them. We understand that the baggage is within us and no one can carry it for us, no matter how much we run away.

No one will carry it, no matter how much they love or want to help you. No one will take it off you. You are the one who can do it if you want to live your life differently here and now. Only you can get rid of your inner baggage!

--

--

Manuela Timofte

I believe in the beauty of the human soul, nature and love, and I share my thoughts and work with love to encourage you.